Work is So Draining

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Work is So Draining

This topic contains 12 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Cindy Jobs OTS 1 year, 6 months ago.

• Author

KeepingUp
    Participant

Hi, I’m in my 50’s. I still need to work but I really struggle all day long (and often nights). I have so much trouble getting things done, prioritizing and finishing anything. I have so many starts of good ideas. This is how I’ve been working for years and it’s so draining.

I have trouble with time – two weeks ago seems like yesterday. I think I have time to finish something then suddenly time slaps me in the face and I’m running on fear and adrenaline. I know I’m smart (often smarter than most of the people I work with) and great with problem solving but my head is so scattered and it seems to take me longer to understand what’s going on (I’m a consultant so its common to deal with newness). It causes me to be too honest about my deficiencies, like I’m trying to make excuses for being late and indecisive. And when I am able to focus, I go into hyper mode and have done things like not start meetings I’m hosting and spending hours upon hours (often my personal time) preparing an analysis that is so overboard, to asked for and not needed. I’m aware I’m doing it but it feels like I can’t stop until it’s perfect.

When I come home, I just want to shutdown – watch tv, surf the internet- anything to distract myself from how awful I feel. I live alone so it’s fairly easy to hide.

I really don’t know what to do. I’m on meds and progressing with my therapist and she has been great helping me chip away at how stuck I am but she’s not an ADHD expert and sometimes I feel like I have to convince her I have ADD. I was thinking a career coach but not sure how to start with this either to find someone who understands ADD.

I really could use some guidance on how to find the best fit for work – something I’ll be excited about and can be successful.