WORK ACCOMMODATIONS FOR ADD

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults WORK ACCOMMODATIONS FOR ADD

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  ADHDmomma 1 year ago.

• Author

MYFIGHT
    Participant

I was only diagnosed two years ago. I’m 47. I’m still learning about what it means for me and how I have learned coping mechanisms over my lifetime.

I’m in a new job that has no structure or guidance other than ‘the government directive’. It is a new position, and there isn’t anyone to lean on to ask how it was done in the past, or follow in someone else’s footsteps. I’ve asked for reasonable accommodations to assist me in pretty much every aspect of the job. (Organization, alternate learning methods, coaches, etc.). The job doesn’t have a lot to offer that is interesting to me, so I get bored easily.

Because there is no structure, I get overwhelmed when trying to figure out where to start, then when I do start, I get overwhelmed on what needs to be done…and then stop.

The help I’ve asked for doesn’t seem too outrageous, but I was told ‘if we can’t accommodate you, then you may be out of a job if you can’t do it.’

I feel like I could do the job, if I could ‘see it, and do it’, but other than ‘follow the guidance’ I don’t know where else to go.

The same mantra keeps going through my head: “I need to know how to drive the car, not how to build one”.

vanilla5326
    Participant