when does TOO energetic become a thing? Whats your personality type?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Teens and Young Adults with ADHD when does TOO energetic become a thing? Whats your personality type?

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Jolly
      Participant

Hey guys, I’m just asking myself and you guys this question because i’m a super outgoing, over the top energetic, enthusiastic, funny, and I’m probably a really annoying person to my friends and family. I’ve done some research about different personality types and I have an ENFP personality type and honestly it aligns with looking and feeling like ADHD a lot to me. If you look up ENFP and adhd its really hard to depict. I need some advice.. When does my personality become ADHD?

heide.lynn.field
      Participant

Interesting, again yesterday I had a co-worker tell me “I get exhausted listening to you life”….which immediately put me on the defense. I am no expert on this at all but wanted to send you some support…from one “tigger” to another xoxo

Penny Williams
      Keymaster

ADHD is a physiological difference in your brain, not a personality type. However, the way your brain works can certainly influence your personality. 😉

Everything You Need to Know About ADHD

Penny
      ADDitude Community Moderator, Parenting ADHD Trainer & Author, Mom to teen w/ ADHD, LDs, and autism

JBoom
      Participant

I think intuitive types (the “N” in your type) are probably more likely to also have ADHD. There isn’t enough data or research to declare any cause-and-effect relationship, but if there was I suspect that ADHD is more likely to influence personality than the other way around. I think that because personality type is about preferences while ADHD is about a physical difference in the neurological systems.

Jolly
      Participant