Vyvanse increasing blood pressure

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Symptoms, Diagnosis & Beyond Vyvanse increasing blood pressure

This topic contains 15 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  rrs78 1 week, 2 days ago.

• Author

jerseysouthpaw
    Participant

I am 52 years old. In June, I began taking Vyvanse (40mg) for the first time (after being formally diagnosed by a psychiatrist who specializes in ADHD). It’s changed my life. I’m a mental health professional who’s worked in education for years – and my eldest son was diagnosed in grade 5. I knew I had ADHD for many years, but I was motivated to try medication after a job promotion. I wish I had years ago. It’s helped me in so many ways – in my work, my relationships, my lowered stress level and as a parent.

Here’s the problem: I feel great and life has improved enormously. However, the medication increases my blood pressure. Before taking Vyvanse in the AM – and after it wears off at night – my BP is normal (120/80). When I’m on Vyvanse, it goes up into the mid-high 130s/mid-high 90s. I’ve been tracking my BP, and there have been times when it’s gone over 140.

My primary doctor had me cut all caffeine, chocolate and salt (low-salt diet). But it isn’t bringing the BP down into the normal range.

My primary doctor is prescribing a low dose of a beta blocker (Metoprolol, 25mg) to see if that can correct the issue. My psychiatrist is not recommending that I come off Vyvanse because I’ve responded so well to it, in regard to the ADHD symptoms. He thinks the best course is to try a BP medication and keep the Vyvanse at the same dosage.

Has anyone else experienced this? I worry about starting another medication. I don’t know if another stimulant would be better for me. My psychiatrist didn’t suggest that.

I was wondering if anyone experienced a difference in BP if they lowered the dosage – like if I went down to 30mg?

mgmm
    Participant