Vyvanse in water

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      jtr74
      Participant

Hello everyone,

I was just listening to a podcast from this site:

Listen to “Medication Management: How to Use and Adjust Stimulants Safely” with William Dodson, M.D.

My Dr made many mistakes that Dr. Dodson covers. He started me on Vyvasne 30 mg. I’m 45 and this is my first time on a stimulant since I was 13. Obviously, I’m still in the trial phase and I felt like it was working OK – but it was “running out” very early in the day. The response on my 3 week followup to this complaint was to jump me to 70 mg. I’d like to tone this down a bit and see if I can figure out a good dosage (that will probably be under 70 mg). Dr. Dodson states that Vyvasne is stable for a long time in water. Does anyone know if it requires refrigeration? I have been googling around but I haven’t been able to find anything definitive.

bdodson
      Participant

Hello, This is Dr. Dodson and I just happened to run across your question while I was looking for something else.
      The answer is that Vyvanse is stable in water essentially forever and without refrigeration. The FDA says you can dissolve Vyvanse in water for people who cannot swallow pills but that you should throw away whatever is left. This is because the FDA did not specifically study whether Vyvanse remained stable or not.