University problems – stuck!

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done University problems – stuck!

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  dbmol 3 days, 9 hours ago.

• Author

Sky77
    Participant

Hello everyone!

I am 20 years old, male and was recently (officially) diagnosed with ADD with quite severe attention disorder and impulsiveness. I also suffer from anxiety disorder and subsequently, somatisation disorder. Currently taking paroxetine for about a year, but my psychiatrist is about to switch the drugs soon.

My problem is, that it seems that nothing ever works out for me. First, a little bit of background story.
    My childhood dream was to be a doctor, so I was an A student in primary school (different in Europe, it has 9 grades) with lots and lots (and i mean a lot) of help from my parents. But, it was not without problems. I rarely did my homework as I just was not able to focus for a long period of time and it took me (and my parents) up to 4 hours to do a simple task. But, fortunately I was quite intelligent so it was not that hard. Therefore, I was able to get into one of the toughest and one of the most elite gymnasiums (preparatory high school) in the country. The first year was “okay”, but in second year, my grades dropped significantly – I was on the verge of failing the year. Today I know that at that time, I had some sort of depression that lasted for almost a year, but was never treated. After that, I had a lot to catch up in third and fourth years of gymnasium, but I somehow managed to be a B student despite having major struggle with Spanish as I basically lost year two. At school leaving exam (matura), which is an exam that is used by the faculties to decide whether to accept you or not, I did not do well enough to be accepted to med school. It was not “bad”, but not good either. I was 18 at the time.