Treating ADHD With Martial Arts

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Treating Your Child Treating ADHD With Martial Arts

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      grgay0502
      Participant

Hey! My name is Grace Gay and I am currently a freshmen at Appalachian State University and for the past couple years I have been doing research on how the Martial Arts is / can be beneficial to children with ADHD. I am a second degree black belt in karate and I have been teaching kids with ADHD for over 5 years. I have seen first handly how it has benefited them. I am posting here because in my freshmen writing class we have been discussing our personal practices and this is mine, I would love to share my podcast with all of you and if you could leave some feedback for me in the comments on soundcloud that would be great! I will also provide a link to my research paper.

Podcast:

Research Paper:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1HqVcIwbVoEw-IJYc2-ZVQaMZO31J7eAOioEwdbNHCNs/edit?usp=sharing

Thank you so much and I hope to hear from some of you!

bugdoctor
      Participant

Wow! Your research paper and podcast sounds great! We put our now 8-yr old son in Tai-kwon-do a little over a year ago. We wanted the physical and mental activity and the discipline. Our Grand Master runs a tight, old school ship. It is wonderful! If you saw my son at home or in school and then at martial arts, you wouldn’t think he was the same person. It is the best thing we’ve done for him so far. Unfortunately, the benefits don’t seem to carry over into life outside the dojo…or maybe they do, and he would be much worse… I will definitely take a look at what you’ve done.

Dr. Eric
      Participant

I am actually a big fan of this.

I wrote a blog for me and my son’s (both ADHD) martial arts academy.
      Blog for Excel

I am also an MMA inspector for Amateur fights, and I am waiting to see if I passed my professional MMA judge’s course.
      CAMO Profile

Ajeethaa
      Participant