Too detailed

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Planner
      Participant

Everything I write whether it is a text message, email or essay (I’m a mature student) etc is so long/detailed. I seem unable to write briefly. Is anyone else the same? Any tips please?

Dizzy
      Participant

LOL…welcome to the club!

Been that way all my life..what some people say in two sentences
      takes me three paragraphs. Much more detailed, of course.

When writing longer papers (short stories, etc.) I tend to
      write, review, and then remove unnecessary info in an effort
      to condense it into a more readable format.

Sweetz
      Participant

Wow! I thought I just did or do too much. This is the story of my life. In taking notes for meetings, I can’t just take the notes, clean em up, and forward for drafting. It never fails I always end up in draft mode. There have been times where I’ve spent 3 hrs on notes it would’ve taken somebody else 30 minutes to do. I can turn a brochure into a magazine into a bestseller…lol. I thought it was a form of perfectionism.

crizzy86
      Participant

I do this a lot! I write little novels to my friends in text messages, every time I open my mouth it’s like I’m doing a long lecture 🙁 If something interests me I never seem to be able to summarize my thoughts and only tell what’s important. Some people even tell me they can’t handle how much I talk, so I only have a few close friends who learned to appreciate what I say and sort out the important parts in my messages or what I say themselves. At university we always had to write long essays so I could handle that. Anyway.. In live in a small nordic country and people are more quiet here than Americans (I lived there too.) i don’t fit the social standard here of being mostly quiet and only say what is most important.. its a life long struggle I think, I will always be the ”chatterbox” as my teachers in elementary school called me 🙁

Bella
      Participant