This UK mum needs some help!

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums FAQ This UK mum needs some help!

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      ahendy
      Participant

Hi,
      This is my first time posting on here and would love some help and support. I am a 43 yr old mum from the UK and desperate for some support/guidance.
      I have a 7 year old son who we suspect has ADHD, he has had an assessment and now we are waiting for his diagnosis’s sometime in the New Year.
      I have read most books/articles on ADHD and try to put strategies in place for him, but his dad, my husband is in denial I’m sure. I try to make him understand that our son does not think or function as we do, and there are days where he’s on board with me, but most days it’s me trying to fight the world and support our son on my own
      I don’t have a support network around me, lost both my parents and have no one to really reach out too. I cannot find any support networks for children and families with ADHD in my area in the UK?
      I’m hoping it will be easier once my son is diagnosed and that we may get some help and support for him? Does it get any easier? Is there anything I can do to help my son now, he has awful anger issues.
      Thanking you in advance for taking the time to read this. Ann 😊

retrodad
      Participant

Hello Ann,

Previous dad in denial (and now divorced) here.

Does it get any easier? YES, but… there’s a VERY STEEP learning curve for all.

A medical diagnosis is just the starting point and unfortunately is still limited to trial and error.

After personally fighting the default meds bandaid for a year, desperation forced a change of opinion. As it turned out, meds gave us the quickest and biggest bang for our buck so far, while also giving us some time and energy to recover and battle on.