Teacher vs Therapist

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums School & Learning Teacher vs Therapist

Tagged: ,

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      lmcclellan
      Participant

I am new to the ADHD world. My 5 year old son has just been diagnosed with it this month. He has been in outside of school speech therapy since August. Anyway my problem is this, Mr E does not understand things like: short/tall, greater than/less than, before/after. It is a skill we have been working on with our outside speech therapist. When I brought up this up with his kindergarten teacher after she has sent home multiple assignments asking the kids what letter comes before/after a certain letter, she replied that “it is very normal for kids his age not to understand” the above examples. I thought Mr E had finally figured out the before/after thing, but this week after getting the first few letters correct, he is struggling and becomes extremely upset.

Is it age appropriate for him to know the Before/after? Is his teacher bluffing that it is “normal” to not understand before/after?

• This topic was modified 2 years, 1 month ago by lmcclellan.
      lucybrighton
      Participant

I am a teacher and I think most kids of the age of 5-6 understand before/after. And it is common in children with ADHD to have trouble understanding before/after, short/tall, greater than/lesser than.

strwbry
      Participant

The teacher is right. Those are first grade skills. I wouldn’t be too concerned that he hasn’t grasped the concept yet. It’s at least a year ahead of him developmentally. Sounds like your speech therapist is a little ahead of the game, and when his brain is developmentally ready, it will click.