Struggling with motivation, relaxing, and focus

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Struggling with motivation, relaxing, and focus

This topic contains 8 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  ljcasey1 5 days, 12 hours ago.

• Author

jastelanchor
    Participant

I am 40 (ugh) and was diagnosed almost 20 years ago with ADD. I have been on Vyvanse for the past 4 years. I’ve tried every medication and Vyvanse is the only one that works. I am a school teacher and during the summer my doctor drops me to a lower dose so I don’t build up a tolerance. I suffer from sensory issues, a lot of noise can drive me over the edge. I also have problems with focus, motivation, and believe it or not being ok with doing nothing. I find it so hard to allow myself to sit and do nothing. When I try to force myself to do nothing I become aware my mind begins to race towards finding something to occupy it. I cannot begin to explain how much time I spend trapped in a vicious cycle and battle with myself because I feel like I waste time trying to find something to do. I cannot just sit and do nothing but, I desperately want too. If I do sit and just watch TV, I become increasingly agitated with myself that I am wasting time that could be used for something more productive. There’s almost an underlying anxiety that I am wasting my precious time on this planet when I could be discovering something new or exploring my creativity. I could be writing a book or going for a hike or exploring a new art medium. Yet I become overwhelmed with ideas of what I could be doing and then I end up doing nothing but mentally beating myself up for not just choosing something to do and DOING IT!