struggling with making decisions

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done struggling with making decisions

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      jrw09e
      Participant

I’m 27 years old and have been working for my dad ever since I graduated college. I never thought about a career in the way I should’ve back when I was in college because I just didn’t care, nor was it even a blip on my radar. I know now that in order for me to be successful and happy, I need to be motivated by my passion. I’m a people person and am very intuitive, but I’ve just been stuck in a rut centered around lack of motivation because I’m confused what avenue to take moving forward. I’ve been struggling with decision making all my life and it makes me crazy and I can’t seem to shake this anxiety which I know I blow out of proportion. If there’s any advice out there, I’d love to hear it. I’m located in Florida and really want to move to another city and have a fresh start, I just don’t know how or what to do with all these different “life paths” I keep over-analyzing which has cemented me in a current situation of “confusion and wanting to find a purpose for my life.”

I’m not depressed, I’d like to state. I’m just lost and nothing not even consulting is really helping and I’m just feeling more lost I guess in the game of Life than I’ve ever felt

ADHDinPGH
      Participant

I can totally relate to your feelings! Know first that most people our age will not settle into one career for the rest of our lives. With fewer and fewer companies offering full benefits and good salaries it is hard to find one place to work until retirement. And I know many successful people in their 40s, 50s, and beyond who have made several career moves in their professional life, so don’t feel like you have to decide one thing now to do forever.