Shame/lack of trust about having a crush

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Women & Girls Shame/lack of trust about having a crush

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Ella C
      Participant

Hello I’m a college student and have had this issue pretty much my whole life and was wondering is anyone else has had a similar experience and/or had any advice for me.

Since I was a little kid I have always been very secretive about crushes. I never told friends, my parents or anyone. Even when I was older I had the same issue. Like I feel ashamed and like I have to hide the fact that I like someone. I had my first boyfriend in my late teens, but only after crushing on him for over a year. The only reason the relationship started is because he told me he liked me first. (This relationship ended 2 years ago btw). I learned a lot through that relationship but yet I still have this same issue.

Now Im in college and really have fallen for this guy, but I still don’t know how to handle the situation or what to say.

I think part of the reason I have always hidden these things is due to my having ADD. I know I can be impulsive and say things I regret to the wrong people, so to prevent this I don’t tell anyone anything at all.

The problem is, I’m an adult now. But I still don’t know how to distinguish from my desire to say something from me just being impulsive to it being something I actually need to say.

Bert
      Participant

So glad I’m not the only one with this. I was writing a response, but it was turning into an essay, so I stopped to reevaluate.

Maybe your answer is in your last sentence, but I’m going to add a bit to maybe bring some perspective:
      Just being impulsive vs. need to say vs. think I can/should say.
      Blurting something Don’t get in your What you said in
      isn’t always bad but vs. car there’s a vs. class made me think
      can be humiliating. pool of gas!! about this in a
      different way…

About my crushes: