Scared to seek diagnosis

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      elijah431
      Participant

Decided to join ADDitude so I could ask this question.

I am a 22-year-old college student and I have suspected that I have ADHD for a few years. In high school, it was easy to dismiss my loathing for schoolwork because it was just stupid and I did not find it interesting. However, since coming to college and being able to study things I really want to learn, I have found that I cannot no matter what, bring myself to study, or complete assignments, or not procrastinate. Even when I find the subject interesting and I want to learn it. I have taken a lot of online questionnaires, assessments, and can identify with almost all of the attention deficit criteria to some degree and about half of the hyperactive ones as well.

My fear is that I will go to get diagnosed but find out there is nothing wrong with me. I don’t want to have a “disorder” but if I don’t have a legitimate reason as to why I can’t succeed, even when I try to pour my heart and soul into my work, I have no idea how I will make it through life. I have gotten really good at hyper-focusing on tests and crunching on final projects throughout the years more so as a survival mechanism, it is usually how I pass my classes and get by as a mediocre student. My fear is that that will “kick in” when being tested and I will pass.

Did anyone have this issue? Is that possible to happen? I am not too familiar with how the tests are conducted.

• This topic was modified 1 year, 8 months ago by elijah431.
      Ranma
      Participant

Well for me the “test” was just my doctor pulling or the A.D.H.D.-A.D.D. checklist and asking me about my childhood, school (how I was in class and studying) how I was at work and private life.
      It was similar to the online evaluations but longer.
      She showed it to me, there were checkmarks in all but one for inattentive A.D.D. and nothing for hyperactivity.