Retail Struggle

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Retail Struggle

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  districtlolita92 6 days, 13 hours ago.

• Author

Hi everyone!
    I really need some help… So I’ve been working retail at a pet store for the last 3 years. Despite it being retail, I actually have a decent job that works for me. I love
    working with animals so I am very motivated, I enjoy cleaning and organizing (I wish I could apply that at home!), I’m constantly doing things and never forced to stand still (I’m never on the register), and all my managers say I have great customer service.
    Even though I have a lot of positives that help with my ADHD, I still have some major struggles. My job requires me to open the Pet Care department every morning (5 days a week) which includes feeding, watering, and giving any meds to sick animals properly, then do all the bedding changes (there is already a set weekly schedule for that which is great), and provide customer service at the same time.
    I can usually get a lot of stuff done, but now I’m biting off more than I can chew. I used to always have at least 2 people that I could count on to help get things done from my old teams in the past. My current team is fine, but they forget a lot of small things that end up being super important. I feel like I can’t rely on anyone so I end up taking on more projects and tasks because I don’t trust that these animals will be taken care of the right way, or I’m the one that gets screwed over and I end up being forced to do tasks that should have been done already.