Rejection Sensitivity at Work

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Relationships Rejection Sensitivity at Work

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  gunnrbear 5 days ago.

• Author

alittlebluerose
    Participant

Hi all,
    I’m still trying to figure out if I have ADHD but I definitely have some rejection sensitivity. Recently I’ve been having an incredibly difficult time at work trying to do a good job and not disappoint anyone and feeling like it’s never enough, leading to breakdowns at work. I’m an assistant manager at a movie theater— which is sometimes way too many things happening at once for me anyway. And lots of demands from corporate. Lately it’s been payroll. I was working so hard today to do the math and manage the schedule and cut several shifts (all of teens who were more than happy to have the day off; I always try to work with the people who really need money to keep as many hours as I can give them). But when my mid-shift teammate who seems neuroatypical, somewhat manic, came in he was so mad at me for cutting shifts even though that’s what we’re supposed to do, and scolded me like a child. I lost it and left crying. Anyone would be upset at that but for me, my whole day was ruined and spent crying. I had to call our boss and “tell on him” too, and even though my boss assured me I didn’t do anything wrong, I can’t stop feeling like a horrible teammate. I don’t work tomorrow but the weekly meeting for management is tomorrow, and the anxiety is crippling because I feel like it will be brought up and I will be judged, or something.

Sorry that was an incredibly long explanation, but can somebody relate? How do you deal with RSD in the workplace and being a member of a team when there’s conflict? How do you deal with feeling like others think you must be a complete basket case? How do you (or even SHOULD you) explain rejection sensitivity to your teammates and other people around you?

Anni @ ADDitude