Psychiatrist wants 3 drug tests before prescribing adderall

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Symptoms, Diagnosis & Beyond Psychiatrist wants 3 drug tests before prescribing adderall

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      fal255
      Participant

Hey everyone, I just wanted to reach out to see if this is normal because i can’t stop thinking about this.

I recently went to a new psychiatrist after not going for 8 months, because that’s when I graduated and my old psychiatrists only sees students and I couldn’t afford a new one. My old psychiatrist put me on adderall for 2 years and it literally changed my life for the better, I became more social, more productive, more focused and without it I don’t think I would’ve graduated. But after I graduated I couldn’t get a job because I’m not a citizen (I have a court case pending) and couldn’t afford a new psychiatrist or the medication I was taking, so I just stopped taking it. I managed to save up enough money to go to a new one and I had a letter from my old one that details the medication I took. I was also honest with her telling her that I smoked weed but was willing to quit if that’s what it takes to get the medication. So I quit smoking and after 3 weeks I go back with a clean pee test, and the psychiatrist tells me that she needs me to pass 3 total drug tests with a week or two in between each before she “becomes comfortable” prescribing me my medication. So I don’t have insurance, I’m an asylum seeker, I have to pay for each drug test, and I’m going to this psychiatrist to help me get my life back together but I can’t help but feel like she’s just being overly unreasonable. I get her wanting me to pass a drug test before prescribing me adderall, but 3? I literally been having panic attacks because I can hardly get out of bed and I’m very fatigued, and I thought I could finally get some help and she’s just prolonging my pain for no reason.