Post-Adderall Crash

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Ellings4
      Participant

Hi,

I’m new to trying Adderall and am having a hard time with the time when it is wearing off.

I’ve been having a really hard time sleeping when I take it, so I’ve been mostly only been trying the short-acting kind in the morning… At first, as it starts to wear off in the early afternoon, I get a mild headache and my eyes and focus get a bit funny. Then a bit later about when I come home from work I get exhausted and a bit overwhelmed. Despite being exhausted in the evenings after I take it, I’ve had a lot of trouble getting to sleep.

The internet seems to suggest that there is the “crash” when it is wearing off (that I’m having issues with), and also the potential for withdrawal if your body is used to it on a regular basis (e.g. depression and other symptoms I haven’t been experiencing with these trials). Surprisingly, I haven’t found much discussion of these symptoms and what can be done about them. The people I know who have been taking Adderall for a long time don’t seem to have (or remember) these issues. When I google it, I get a lot of suggestions from people discussing taking it illegally (presumably at much higher doses?) but their suggestions for the crash tend to involve other illegal drugs. Am I googling the wrong words?

I’d like to hear if others have had these types of symptoms, if this is normal, and if anyone has figured out how to deal with these types of “crash” symptoms.

I’d also love to get an understanding of what your brain/body is going through as it wears off (i.e. the nerdy science stuff).

Thanks!

• This topic was modified 2 years, 9 months ago by Ellings4.
      • This topic was modified 2 years, 9 months ago by Penny Williams.
      Penny Williams
      Keymaster

The “crash” you describe is often referred to as rebound. It’s discussed much more often in relation to children, but it can happen to anyone taking these medications.