Please help – judgment and decision-making at work

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Relationships Please help – judgment and decision-making at work

This topic contains 22 replies, has 15 voices, and was last updated by  carriebgood 4 months ago.

• Author

carriebgood
    Participant

Hello,
    This is my first time posting here, and it’s a doozy. Sorry about that…
    I’m 33 years old (5 years post-dx and about 3-4 months post really recognizing all the effects ADHD has on my daily life). I started in a stressful middle-management type position a year ago. The person who held the job before me was there for 25 years and had a lot of institutional knowledge in her head (and not much written down). I’m doing my best to get up to speed, but my direct manager is constantly frustrated with me because of my inconsistent ability to understand when to seek her input or share information with her, and when to proceed independently (I seem to always do the opposite of what’s expected). I don’t know how to get better at this without getting a very specific job description in writing. She knows I have ADHD but doesn’t know much about it. She is very kind and empathetic, but I always feel like I am trying her patience, and as though the next mistake I make will be the one that makes her give up on me. I’m desperate — please help me explain to my boss that I can’t just know when to loop her in and when to figure things out on my own – I’m missing the part of my brain that can make those decisions! (I know that’s not scientifically accurate; I’m just really frustrated and confused right now). And that having poor judgment and decision-making abilities is not a character flaw; it’s literally something I don’t have control over… Thank you so so so much in advance for your replies. I have a meeting with her on Monday morning and would really like to be able to explain myself calmly and rationally, using data rather than an emotional appeal.

InnatentiveMom