Piano practice and ADHD

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums School & Learning Piano practice and ADHD

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Ella C
      Participant

Hello! I’m a college student diagnosed with Inattentive type ADD.

The past year I have picked up piano lessons on my college campus. I don’t have much previous experience with the piano and only took lessons off and on in high school.

Although I do love the music and I have a strong desire to learn piano, I struggle with practicing.

When I sit down to practice I feel like I get focused on the wrong stuff and get too scattered and don’t make any progress.

Are there any other ADHD pianists out there? What strategies do you use to practice?

erinblueberry
      Participant

Hi Ella
      I’m a high school student with ADHD and i love playing piano but the same thing happens to me too. What I try to do is decide what music to play before i start practicing. Ex. Ill play song 1 first, song 2 sencond ect. Ill all decide how many times I’ll play each song and usually i move the other songs somewhere else so I don’t get distracted by them. If your taking lessons then your teacher can defined help with this.
      Hope you are successful in all your piano endeavours. 😊

Stellaluna
      Participant

Hi! I realize this is old, but maybe answering could be useful for people checking out the forums.

I’ve been playing since I was small and am currently in college. Practice can still be a challenge, but here’s what works for me.

My practice right now looks like:
      Warmup (helps my brain transition to working/analyzing mode, also my teacher will make me play warmups for her so I want to be able to do it well)
      Work on new or hard parts
      Review previously worked sections (day before, etc)
      Start from the beginning (working on the big-picture, whole piece)