Performance Issues at Work

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Emotions & Shame Performance Issues at Work

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      ananderson
      Participant

Hello – this is the first time I have posted. I was first diagnosed with ADHD in 2011 when I was struggling to keep up with paperwork and other job tasks at a previous position. Looking back all positions I have had in the past have included some difficulty, even going back to being a waitress in college. I am a social worker / therapist. I have been at my current position 1.5 years, I work in an adolescent day treatment program. I have struggled with performance issues since the fall. I put in 50 hours a week and still can’t keep up. A strength at my previous positions was the rapport I was able to build with clients. I received a write up on concerns in that area late December. I feel like I’ve been walking on eggshells since then. I have been getting the day to day items done as much as possible but have neglected some other ongoing things. Yesterday I had no warning, HR and my supervisor met with me to give another write up, a 2nd step in the process. I need to have all up to date by Monday of next week. I am in the process of requesting accommodations through HR, I recently went through updated ADHD testing. My current job is an ADHD nightmare, constant interruptions, more paper to deal with than I’ve ever had at other jobs in my life. So many different tasks expected in this position. I have known for the past few months this isn’t a good fit for me and I need to find something else. I am interviewing for another position (outpatient therapy like I did in the past) in the same organization but know they will have access to my employee file if they would like.