Overwhelmed

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Penny Williams
      Keymaster

This discussion was originally started by user knitfit in ADDitude’s now-retired community. The ADDitude editors have included it here to encourage more discussion.

I work in education. The pace of my job is constant. My room is located by the gym, the cafeteria, and abuts the janitors closet. The music room is above me.  Speaking to my administrator about changing the location of my room will not prove fruitful. I will be told that there are no other rooms available. Everyday, the small groups I work with are bothered by the noise, and 60% of my students also suffer from distractibility. I leave right at 3:10 most days and take my work home so I can concentrate on planning. I guess I am just posting this for any suggestions, or ideas on how to improve the situation.

Thank you.

Allison Russo
      Keymaster

This reply was originally posted by user knitfit in ADDitude’s now-retired community.

I have Adult ADHD, however, only a few close friends at work know this.

Allison Russo
      Keymaster

This reply was originally posted by user Trembling in ADDitude’s now-retired community.

Background noise helps me to feel comfortable. The distractibility in my case isn’t a function of outside influences. My mind is a scrambled t.v. screen without meds. That’s just me, but perhaps the kids in your class experience less interruptions from those noises than you might believe.

In school as a child, my mind went off on a wild goose chase while doing my best to listen to the teacher without any sounds popping through the walls or ceiling.

Allison Russo
      Keymaster

This reply was originally posted by user adhdmomma in ADDitude’s now-retired community.

Use the needs of your students who are also easily distracted to convince your principal to move your classroom.