Overwhelmed that I may actually…

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Overwhelmed that I may actually…

This topic contains 8 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  kathi47 3 months ago.

• Author

momagmom
    Participant

Have auditory processing issue/ADD my whole life…but only finding out at 45?!???
    To top it off, I’m a very successful elementary teacher who has multiple student every year with this diagnosis…”ironically” placed in my room because I run a quite and orderly classroom…can’t stand noise and confusion😉 Here is my issue…why am I feeling embarrassed and ashamed? I can’t bring myself to tell anyone but my husband…so much of my life and unresolved medical issues are making sense now…but I feel embarrassed..please tell me this is a normal part of the process??? Am I in “shock”?

Boogie
    Participant

I’m a teacher too (retired now). I was diagnosed aged 50. I was well known for being able to deal with the ‘difficult’ pupils – I’m sure because I saw something of myself in them and was able to meet their needs better. I also kept a quiet, very orderly classroom. I was known as ‘Mrs Organised’ – overcompensating for my real self, which came out at home in a big way. Work order, home chaos!

I didn’t tell anyone at work either, but I did slowly educate those who were willing to listen.

🙂

momagmom
      Participant

Thank you so much! I am certainly replaying so many interactions I’ve had with children who I know have this processing disorder…I bet I will never, ever use comments about “not listening” again…guilt is another emotion I’m feeling…dispite being a good teacher…we always feel like we could have and should do things better! Again, I so appreciate that you took the time to reply.

liasamturn
    Participant