Newly diagnosed 13 year old daughter

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Teens & Young Adults Newly diagnosed 13 year old daughter

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Katieboosmama
      Participant

Good Morning,

My name is Ellen, my 13 year old daughter has just been diagnosed with inattentive ADHD combined form (I think that was how it was worded) I am very new to this and to be honest a bit overwhelmed, feel a bit guilty for missing it, and am looking for support, advice, resources etc. Back story, at a young age my daughter was a perpetual spinning motion machine. Very busy but never what I would call “hyper” or frantic about it. No issues in elementary school Straight A Honors Student up until the last quarter of 5th grade. Most of her elementary school teachers did describe her as a daydreamer and that she would drift off into “Katieland” comments would be made about her lack of organization, but nothing mentioned about or suggesting ADHD except one conference with her 3rd grade teacher who to be honest did not like my child. Her comment was “did you ever consider medicating her” No Hey I think there may be a problem/issue here etc. The last quarter of 5th grade she got strep throat and missed about 2 weeks of school. She failed math that quarter. (A-B average in Math the rest of the year) I put that down to her being sic. From then on it has all been downhill especially with math. 6th grade was rough which I put down to her adjusting to me going back to work full time. (I was a stay at home mom for 10 years) Her grades were C’s and B’s in all classes except math which was barely a D. The school was at this point still insisting she stay in the Academically Gifted program in both ELA and Math even though she was struggling hugely in math. Now in the 7th grade with remote learning we are at the end of our ropes. The struggles the meltdowns, flat out not turning in assignments doing the work sometimes but forgetting to turn in. I felt as if I