New Diagnosis & constant dread of losing relationship

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Relationships New Diagnosis & constant dread of losing relationship

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Liam9638 1 year, 4 months ago.

• Author

fasterthannormal
    Participant

Hi, I’m new to the forum. I’ve never done anything like this before so please bear with me.

I just really want to reach out and to talk to people who are struggling and who actually understand me and to hopefully get some advice.

I got diagnosed towards the end of last year I’m
    coming up for the 32 so this has all been a huge change but it also has helped make sense of my behaviours and helped explain why everything has ended up in such a mess!

I’m currently living in a constant dread that I’m going to lose my current partner who I love so so much. Every other relationship has ended the same way so Its almost like I’m counting it down in my mind which is incredibly unhelpful and unproductive.

I put so much pressure on it not failing and set these ridiculous expectations that just create anxiety and doubt which results in being counter productive and ends up damaging the relationship.

I’m struggling to get my emotions in order and struggling to control my outbursts. We argue all the time and it generally comes back to me “not changing or doing anything I said I’d do”

I’m jealous, intense and acting really needy which I hate!! I want to change so badly but I can’t seem to figure out any coping strategies for stress or for not saying what I’m thinking (which most times I don’t even mean) my intense behaviours are pushing my girlfriend away and I can see it all happening in front of me.

Can anyone help? I’m taking medication and I’ve started talk therapy but I’ve only done one session. I also started meditating about 2 weeks ago which I’m finding very hard!

I know it’s a long tough road ahead but I’m open to any help and advice.

Thanks in advance