My Partner Doesn’t Understand ADD

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults My Partner Doesn’t Understand ADD

Tagged: 

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      kdougherty527
      Participant

Hello! I am new to ADDitude! I am a 27 year old female. I was diagnosed with ADD as a child but I did not start treatment until I reached college. The last few years I have really tried to learn more about how it has shaped who I am and have come a long way. I am in a serious relationship with someone I have known since high school. We were very close friends most of the time but about a year ago we crossed bridge into a relationship. We have amazing chemistry and balance each other out in many ways. He is incredibly organized, productive, great with finances, basically great in the areas I struggle with because of my ADD. The biggest issue we have is communication and misunderstanding.
      He does not understand ADD at hardly at all. I have struggle with impulsive decisions and being able to think ahead to the future. He is constantly doing things to plan for the future I.e. saving money, he bought a house already and a car; whereas I find it extremely hard to save money for anything not in the immediate future (I am an overworked underpaid zookeeper so there is not a ton to work with) I drive an old car to avoid a car payment and I made some bad financial decisions in college that I am still paying for.