Music

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Aleksandar_Atan
      Participant

I’m really interested if any of you saw the way ADD effected your music taste.

I’m a musician, and I play bass, guitar, sing and I know drums and keys but more in a way of composing than playing.

I noticed I like short songs or long songs with one riff that plays throughout. I like punk, alternative rock, noise rock, experimental music and I think that punk really resonates with me because of the energy and the shortness of the songs.

I had no problem learning complicated rhythms and I love experimenting but I was unable and uninterested in learning complex song structures. For example I dislike metal because to me it’s boring. I zone out and can’t listen to it.

As a singer I was rarely able to learn even my own lyrics and I mumble throughout because of it. Having somewhat freestyle approach to songwriting and really more of an introspective approach.

What do you listen? How does your ADD effect your musicianship?

Martina
      Participant

Hi, I have ADHD and I am 45.
      When I was 5, I started to signg in one fames children chorus, all adults thought I was really talented. But I hated to stay still and sing sad songs that was our choirmaster wanted us. My mother have told me, I said I will jump from the window, if I must go there. So ended up my career of musician. I wasn’t able to learn by myself. I could not read properly until I was 12 and it was still too hard for me. I can not remember text of songs, I can not learn songs as quickly as my friends, because I need to learn the music first and than I can slowly add text, I can not reed it from sheets together like them.

Aleksandar_Atan
        Participant