Middle Age, Disability, No Job – What Now?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done Middle Age, Disability, No Job – What Now?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  LoriR 5 months ago.

• Author

BrendaB
    Participant

Hi All,
    I posted last year about being unemployed. Since then I took a class through a free program, got a certification in a software, but still am unable to find work in the field I have very little experience in. I do have a small amount $ coming in from temp work I have on the weekends, it is manual labor, 12 hr days and exhausting! I have no benefits. But I am grateful I can pay rent (room in someones house). I realize why I cant find a job is because this disability has caused me to lose and have several jobs, I have little experienced in this new field, and also am middle aged. I thought getting an internship or junior position would be the answer, but many of those positions hire students or new graduates. I am open to getting a job doing something else, I have always fell back on working retail, but it is exhausting and not sufficient pay. This late in life, with EFD & ADD and a learning disability, I do not know how to go about finding that job. Many positions want PROGRESSIVE experience in the area. With my resume and a (useless) masters degree, I do not know how to apply to a position I know I can do, but my work experience does not show it. Suggestions have been made to place abilities on my resume that are transferable as opposed to chronological. Done that- put up a red flag to recruiters and does not bode well when submitting applications online. I also need to make enough $ – at least over $60 to start to pay off school loans. Any Suggestions appreciated. Thanks. Can’t continue on this track. Not having sufficient income, my own place, and working weekends has left me isolated and depressed (I am being treated- which helps) but still want to get my life in order. And en