Medication for women

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Penny Williams
      Keymaster

This discussion was originally started by user BonnieAT in ADDitude’s now-retired community. The ADDitude editors have included it here to encourage more discussion.

Hello. I’m fairly new to the ADHD world and brand new here (yay! I found people who ‘get’ me!!).

I’m just starting this journey and am wondering about meds. Are there any that seem to work better for women than other medications? My doctor is supportive and is very willing to help me but I’d rather not just try each med willy-nilly if I don’t have to. I tried Ritalin briefly a while ago and didn’t feel like it really helped.

Thank you very much!! Looking forward to some much needed support and direction!

Devon Frye
      Keymaster

This reply was originally posted by user Lean~In in ADDitude’s now-retired community.

Adderall generic seems to work for me. First thing in the AM and again at 4 PM.

I know this seems wacko. I started taking the afternoon dose after reading numerous articles about this diagnosis. I was extremely interested in the ability to sleep well. Taking it late afternoon allows me to finish up projects, enough so that my brain can check out and get a good night sleep. Taking the second dose from noon to 2, didn’t provide the calm of completion and the true rest I needed.

Good luck with your path. Be sure to get out and walk. Exercise clears the pathways of the brain too.

Devon Frye
      Keymaster

This reply was originally posted by user adhdmomma in ADDitude’s now-retired community.

ADHD medications and dosages are very individual. The medication that works for you depends on your neurotransmitter needs, genetics, and metabolism. There isn’t any medication that “works best” or is better for women.

Learn all you can about ADHD medication to make an informed decision.