Medication breaks

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums FAQ Medication breaks

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Ella C
      Participant

Hello I am a college student with Inattentive ADD and I have been on adderall for a couple years now. I have been taking an extended in the morning with instant in the afternoon.

What I worry about is that I hear a lot about people going off meds in the summer. I’ve tried this but it’s really hard for me because I work in the summer and find it challenging to function without the meds. This makes me worry about my health from being on the medication so long as well as worrying about being too dependent. I cut out the instant release in the summer and on days where I don’t have much school work. But not taking any medication at all throws me out of wack since I’ve been on it for so long.

Is it bad that I don’t go off of it completely? Does anyone who is older or in college with adhd have anything they do that works for them?

PS I have talked to my doctor about tapering off the adderall once I graduate and the demands of studying go down. So I don’t plan to be on it the rest of my life.

Penny Williams
      Keymaster

The majority of people take ADHD medication every day. It depends on how you function without it if it’s a valid idea to skip it for the summer.

Penny
      ADDitude Community Moderator, Parenting ADHD Trainer & Author, Mom to teen w/ ADHD, LDs, and autism

Jeanett0510
      Participant

Hi Ella!

I am only speaking from personal experience, but maybe it will be helpful in some way to you.

I am a graduate student and I was diagnosed with ADHD during undergrad. When I started grad school I had trouble transferring medical records and I guess at that point I was worried I had to go through another long period of testing and decided to quit my medication cold turkey (I was prescribed Vyvanse 60 mg).