Medication Anxiety

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      anxietygirl1281
      Participant

Hey fellow Add-ers,

Newbie here, and I could really use some advice and/or reassurance. I have had Anxiety disorder all my life, and it centers around health- mostly heart related. I am the poster child for hypochondria. I also have always had a deep fear or having a heart attack/dying.

Ten years ago after being treated for anxiety only for 10+ years, my pdoc suggested I had adhd and that was actually causing the anxiety. We tried Adderall XR to test this theory, and it was a miracle. For the first time in my life things got tremendously better, I was able to “adult” finally and on top of that my anxiety virtually disappeared. I’m not saying I didn’t have bad days here and there, but the reduction in anxiety was massive and the benefits in my life as well. We didn’t even need a benzo for the first time in years.

But then I googled. I’ve been told not to do this due to the health anxiety. But, I did it anyway. I read so many scary articles. Adults dropping dead, heart attacks (my biggest fear), and all the other hoopla they post online about the horrors of stims. I was ok at first but then I started becoming terrified to take the medication even though I have zero heart defects (I have literally gone through extensive testing at a cardiologists), and my blood pressure is great at an average of 115/70. I have had numerous physicians, psychiatrists and other healthcare providers tell me I am a-ok to take this medication.

I quit taking it and life went back to chaos. I haven’t taken it in probably 5 years now bc every time I tried it resulted in panic attacks and hours of anxiety, even after it wore off.