Masters Degree and Having to Focus

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done Masters Degree and Having to Focus

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  lniebauer 2 years, 11 months ago.

• Author

lniebauer
    Participant

I’m 47,a single mom with 3 boys, 11 – 16 at home. I’m a Title 1 Reading teacher, just got my degree 3 years ago. Now I’m working on my masters. My latest class has had far FAR more homework than any of my previous classes. The list of what all I have to do overwhelms me, shuts me down, I procrastinate, stress out about it, avoid it, and then I put myself into deep stress levels while I race to get the work done…..which takes hours and hours and hours of focus to get it done. I had to do a 15 page annotated bibliography. 15 sources, 1 page per source. I was so exhausted after doing 8 pages one day and caught a cold going around. Took me 6 days to get over. The fatigue was the biggest struggle. The anxiety of the rest of the homework puts knots in my stomach. I’m nearly done, praise God! But I don’t want to keep doing this. I’ve got to figure out how to change my feelings about my priorities. I kept talking myself through it as I worked and worked. Tried to be upbeat, allowed myself short brain breaks. But still the intense urge to get away from the work was so strong it took all my energy to fight it and stay on course.
    Can anyone else relate to this? I have ADD, take vyvanse, an anti depressant and anti anxiety. I’m very self aware and self reflective. But sometimes my strategies seem powerless to my screaming brain.

jnlmhny33
    Participant

Hello Iniebauer,