Looking for a smart watch so I can put my phone down…

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done Looking for a smart watch so I can put my phone down…

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Happygirl 4 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

kjhcrews
    Participant

I’m looking for a smart watch to use with my Apple iPhone. I would like to be notified when someone is calling, if I receive a text and calendar/reminder/alerts/alarm. I am insanely distracted by my phone and I know it is killing my productivity. I would love to just lock it away, but I have 3 kids and I am self employed, so I need to be able to be reached. I am not tech savvy at all, so I would like to find something simple. I just have no idea where to start! Any input would be greatly appreciated!

KCRoyalsFan88
    Participant

I did this 3 years ago or so, and it’s been super helpful. I went with the Apple Watch for simplicity’s sake. It sets up easily and it’s pretty simple to customize what notifications feed to it and which ones don’t. As a self-employed mom of 5, it’s certainly helped me feel a little less distracted but still allows me to utilize reminder tools, etc that are necessary for me to stay on top of (or close to) life.

kjhcrews
      Participant

Do you have any suggestions on which Apple Watch? There are so many to choose from and I’m clueless as to which would be the most simple to set up and operate.

ryoto
    Participant

I didn’t want a smart watch but I use a really basic one that was given to me called mi band 3 from xiaomi which is really cheap and does all the notifications I need without being distracting or bulky.
    I think the newest model is the mi band 4 and is $35 on amazon. There is a bigger version that is more the shape of the apple watch too.