Looking back on my whole marriage

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Relationships Looking back on my whole marriage

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Phillipa60
      Participant

Hi, this is my first time posting. I am the non-ADHD wife, and I finally realize that what we have been struggling with our whole marriage is husband’s undiagnosed ADHD, and my inappropriate reactions to it.
      Some background: we are in our early 60s. Son is 35 and was diagnosed with ADHD at age 8. He was treated in a multi-disciplinary program including medication and he has done fantastically well, married, great job, etc.
      Husband has been a chronic under-achiever relative to his IQ and potential. Always procrastinates, easily distracted, moved jobs all the time (often got fired), very impulsive, blurts out inappropriate comments all the time, argues, drives too fast, doesn’t pay attention, gets irritated very easily and over-reacts, but at the same time can be hyper-focused on things that interest him (managing our finances, stock exchange). He forgets things ALL the time.
      He has suffered from depression on and off for the past 10 years and is on Welbutrin.
      We’ve never really discussed that he may have adult ADHD nor has his psychiatrist mentioned it, but after reading a lot over the past few weeks, I am sure he does.
      It makes me look at my own behavior and especially my incessant nagging, mothering him, as well as my loneliness…..
      I have carried the major responsibility for nearly everything for so long and am exhausted and very sad.
      He has an appointment with his psyc this week and he is going to discuss it.
      He has already started taking fish oil (I remember now that this was recommended a few years ago and he took it for a while but then stopped. Not persisting with things is another of his issues!).
      I wonder if he needs a higher dose of Welbutrin (he’s on 150mg a day) or perhaps Concerta as well?