Living with ADHD & Depression-will I ever feel happy?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Emotions & Shame Living with ADHD & Depression-will I ever feel happy?

This topic contains 29 replies, has 23 voices, and was last updated by  ADDLobstah 4 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

kdmcdonald22
    Participant

I am not even sure where to start, I have never written a post before. I am a 42 year old woman and was diagnosed with ADHD a few years ago. I have struggled with depression and anxiety since my early 20’s and early on I was able to pinpoint where some of my depression was coming from and was able to deal with that. The biggest frustration I have now is having no idea why I feel depressed. It is so frustrating and upsetting to me to feel so horrible, not knowing why, and not being able to pull myself out of it. I have read so much about ADHD and how it effects women specifically, and I know that all of this is related but it still does not help me feel better. I just don’t even know what to do with myself when I feel this way and everything and everyone in my life suffers but I don’t know how to fix it. I really hate myself when I have fallen into this dark hole of depression and eventually it gets so bad that I fell like maybe I deserve to feel this way. I tend to look back over my life and think of all the not so nice things that have come out of my mouth without thinking and all of the mistakes I have ever made, and feel that maybe this is my punishment. I am really good at tearing myself down but am not able to bring myself back to feeling happy. It is so frustrating and I often wonder what is wrong with me and plead to the empty room that all I want is to be happy, that I promise to be a better person if I can just feel happy again. I feel so alone most of the time even when I have people around me, because I know that nobody will truly understand. I have become very good at faking that I am fine when I am anything but fine. I wonder if there is