Life Has Changed For the Better

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done Life Has Changed For the Better

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  scotth 5 days, 10 hours ago.

• Author

scotth
    Participant

In some ways that title may be misleading…
    Let me explain.
    I’m an adjunct instructor at a community college. Almost the ideal job for me considering my ADHD and various other issues. The difficulty, or one, however, has always been my serious social anxiety issues. Daily struggle. Stressed all the time – to the point of last summer ended up in the ER for the first time ever with a heart scare. They kept me there all day…yikes! Heart doing OK though.

This winter, even before Covid-19 turned everyone’s world upside down, I taught both of my classes online for the first time (we live in a huge, geographically speaking, county, and when roads are icy, students have difficulty attending classes) – admin just figured let’s give this a try to keep enrollment up and reduce attendance issues. Worked great. Spring became fully online for me. And now summer classes are fully online. The college has already reworked everything for fall to be online as well – those classes that can, at least.

My issue now is this: I seriously do not want to go back to in-class teaching. With all my issues, this has become my dream job. Create videos for students – they follow the videos. Set up office hours via requested livestream events. Grade and interact when it occurs to me or students need assistance. Make adjustments to the curriculum as needed. Etc.

Seriously, this couldn’t be better for my ADHD and variety of co-morbid issues.

When I think about the difference in my mental and physical health even. I am doing soooooo much better.

Right now I’m stressing though: how do I make this a permanent thing?! At some point, I assume, we will be going back into the classroom.