Learning the Right Dosage? Need advice

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Treating Your ADHD Learning the Right Dosage? Need advice

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      shine2019
      Participant

Hi all,

I am very newly diagnosed and have some questions for others who are more experienced in managing their treatment. This will probably be long winded, I apologize.

Two weeks ago, my doctor and I discussed medication, and I started the lowest dose of Adderall in extended release form on a 15 day trial. We are starting out slow because medication really scares me and of course, we don’t know yet what I will need. Forgive me if the following sounds ignorant, I am still learning and only repeating right now what was told to me: According to my counselor, if it turned out I didn’t need the medication (I asked), I would get nearly manic energy taking the Adderall, much like those who “take it to get things done.” And according to my PCP, I should be able to feel a positive difference fairly quickly. I am researching more holistic approaches to complement treatment as well, including continuing counseling.

My trial prescription ends tomorrow and I am scheduled to pick up a prescription for a higher dose. Since beginning the medication, there have been times I am able to focus more, and I find myself avoiding tasks less often. But mostly the largest difference I have seen is that I am able to recognize sometimes when I am *not* focusing… sometimes I can get myself back on track, sometimes not. It still is a pretty big effort to sustain any substantial focus or motivation. I know that the pills are not a cure all, I am working slowly on behavior changes as well, and I am sure there will *always* be “good days” and days where I struggle a bit. My question is this: how do those of you who are more experienced know when your dose is or is not working, is too little, too much, etc? I would appreciate any advice given.

Penny Williams
      Keymaster