Just diagnosed with ADD and belittled by (sexist?) psychologist

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Women & Girls Just diagnosed with ADD and belittled by (sexist?) psychologist

This topic contains 14 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by  jdcor 1 week, 3 days ago.

• Author

lepatti
    Participant

Hello!
    I have just been diagnosed with ADD at the age of 29. I have been suspecting that I might have ADD for a couple of years now and I thought finally getting a diagnosis would be a huge relief and a validation. Instead, the psychologist made me feel like crap about myself, belittling and patronizing me and treating me like I was an idiot. Basically I am pretty high functioning and have been able to build a successful career in NGO research and advocacy and have recently embarked on a PhD in a prestigious university. So it’s not like I’m any kind of genius but a normal person who is smart and hardworking enough to have made it so far without any support.

Basically the psychologist mansplained to me basic things like how to read an academic article and implied that because of my ADD, I was likely to produce bad research and make claims with no evidence. He also said that it was obvious that someone like me would only do qualitative research and no statistics (which he implied is more difficult). He also said that without a lot of support from the university I wouldn’t be able to finish my PhD.

I’m left feeling angry and powerless, like all of a sudden I was no longer an individual person but a set of symptoms and problems to be managed and for this old man to ‘save’ with his treatments. I do wonder if he had talked to me the same way if I was a 29-year old professional man. This is the exact reason I don’t trust the medical profession and was really nervous to see a psychologist.