I’ve lost hope, will and desire to go on and keep trying

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Emotions & Shame I’ve lost hope, will and desire to go on and keep trying

This topic contains 17 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  janag 1 year, 5 months ago.

• Author

Oscar
    Participant

Hi, this is my first time here, and as I write this I’m debating myself over the point of reaching out. I don’t really know how to do this, I usually always try to do everything as perfectly as I can, but lately I don feel it’s even worth trying for me anymore. I’m from Mexico, I’m 32 years olds, married and with two daughters. I’ve lost all my friends but one,, I’ve lost everybody’s trust; my parents’, siblings’ my wife’s… and the worst part is that i don’t even believe in myself anymore. I grew up in a family of very successful parents, hard working people, and for as long as I can remember I have known or felt that i am different, special. As a child I remember not having many friends, not being too forward going, but rather always thinking to myself, I would always have this long conversations with myself, analyzing situations and possible outcomes to the most random and also meaningful situations. I remember being 8 years old and seeing the world as being so wrong, and so clearly, that I couldn’t understand how people didn’t notice, and always coming to the conclusion that one day, I would grow up and be able to change all those things one at a time until I made the world a better place. I was so wrong. As the years went by, I started to encounter different problems in every aspect of my life- school, home, relationships, society- I started to do poorly at school after third grade, and I also started getting in trouble for not measuring the consequences of my actions. I was way too curious, and only had my grandmother to look after me and my siblings. I would constantly loose my backpack at school, Gail to do homework, I was unintentionally mean to my c