I don’t fit in and I’m sick of blaming myself

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Teens and Young Adults with ADHD I don’t fit in and I’m sick of blaming myself

Tagged: 

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  purplepanda95 4 months ago.

• Author

erinblueberry
    Participant

Hi I’m a high school student and I was diagnosed in grade two. So I’m friends with people who aren’t in my grade so because of this all my friends have all their jokes and take about the things that happen in their class (which is understandable) but in my class I don’t have any friends. I feel really lonely a lot of the time and often blame my self (and I’m tired of that) I always over think when people don’t want to hang out, did i do something wrong, do they not like me anymore, would they be better off without me? I need help connecting with people my age, I try to be quirky and funny but people don’t understand then a close up and people don’t seem to like that either. I don’t fit in anywhere. How do I stop being so lonely?

Aleksandar_Atan
    Participant

Hi! I completely understand that. During my four years in highschool I wasn’t able to make any friends. I had friends outside od school but that doesn’t help when you can’t connect and fit in with your peers.

I tried same things. Being funny, quirky, trying to relate on any level but nothing really helps. I was somewhat able to talk to couple of kids and some of them liked me I think but it never went pass the initial stage.

People thought I was challenged (which in retrospect I somewhat was) I had big problems with teachers, principal and the whole school department. Was ona brink of expelsion couple of times. I was never problematic but because I had a strained relationship with everyone at school I didn’t attend that often and when I was there I wasn’t really there.

I developed substance abuse that led to even worse time.