I know I have a brain … but where is it?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults I know I have a brain … but where is it?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Livingw/AdHd
      Participant

I graduated college a few years ago and am still trying to find a career. I know I am smart and I know I know things. But lately I feel like I don’t even have a brain. When asked questions I blank. When I need to retrieve some type of information that I know I should know. It’s not there. And I panic I can’t even answer yes or no questions. With out panicking. This beginning to be a problem. Making me feel incapable. And it’s freaking me out… where did it go? And what can I do to get it back?

phoenixundine
      Participant

I know how you feel. I’m in a similar situation. I’ve had a few short contract jobs but haven’t settled into anything like a career. A part of the problem is that there is a structure and routine that gets you through college but now I’m having to come up with a new one on my own.

I’m thinking about trying a CBT therapist again with a focus on case management. Basically a pro accountability buddy. In the meantime trying to stick to consistent morning and evening routines and supporting the brain nutritionally helps a lot. Vitamin D3 and a black tea version of bulletproof coffee turn my brain on in the morning. At my best I have a solid 5 hours of the day I can focus if my roommates don’t distract me.

rebell90
      Participant