I feel like I am being excluded at work

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Relationships I feel like I am being excluded at work

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      dmvaughn00
      Participant

Hi there, this is my first time posting to a forum here, but lately, I am finding it a real challenge to socialize with some of my colleagues. I am a teacher, and we are about to come off summer break. Some of my colleagues and I attended professional development over the course of two days. I don’t know whether I am reading too much into this, but it always seemed to me that they kept trying to ditch me. Every time we changed workshops, they would leave me behind. When we went to lunch, they were already out the door and loading into the school van without telling me where they were going. Yesterday I texted one of them to find out where they were going and today, again, no one told me until the same person saw me standing alone looking down at my phone. Today, I was actually considering not going with them because of the fact that I just didn’t feel very welcome yesterday.

My entire life I’ve been an outsider, the oddball. No matter where I go or what I do, I never seem to fit in anywhere. I thought that working in this district would be different, but it feels like people still alienate me anyway for no good reason. If there is a reason, I sure wish someone would tell me so I can work on fixing it. Picking up on social cues is not one of my strong points. People wonder why I prefer to be a loner: to protect myself from getting my feelings hurt. I’m thinking that maybe it would be best if I just keep to myself.

SierraW
      Participant

Let me say first and foremost, BOY CAN I RELATE! I have been in similar situations all through my life. I am no expert on social skills, actually quite the opposite. I do however have a belief and affirmation that helps me in such times: