I can’t stand up for myself at work and I hate myself for it!

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Emotions & Shame I can’t stand up for myself at work and I hate myself for it!

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  SimonaSto 3 weeks, 6 days ago.

• Author

Honey18
    Participant

I am a woman, mid 40’s with a good job that I enjoy. However I feel like a child at work at times. I have no self-confidence around senior
    management, I get so nervous around them and my words come out all jumbled and I feel they
    must think I’m stupid and have poor communication skills.
    I know I am not stupid, I have a university degree and am a quick learner but I just find I work so much better on my own, in my own little zone. I have no problem communicating with my husband, kids or colleagues apart from the senior ones.
    My role is developing and my manager wants me to raise my profile but I just don’t know how to do this when I find certain people hard to talk to.

I can be very sensitive too. Today something happened at work and a senior manager spoke to me in a terribly arrogant and rude manner. I didn’t know what to say or do, my words all
    came out-in a jumble and he made me look stupid. I was so upset, I went to the toilet and cried
    and cried. If that had been my colleague she would not have stood for being spoken to like yhay by anyone, in fact I doubt he would have spoken to her like that in the first place! She oozes confidence that says ‘don’t talk to me like that’!
    How do you be like that? I don’t want to be treated like a child, patronised or spoken down to or be afraid to speak or voice my opinions. I am a wife and mother and have travelled
    the world on my own for goodness sake! I should be able to do this but i can’t seem to.

Can anyone empathise or offer advice please?

LuannKelly1980
    Participant