How to study and memorize w/ADHA?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done How to study and memorize w/ADHA?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  ADHDmomma 4 weeks ago.

• Author

shares
    Participant

Hello,

My whole family including me has ADHD/ADD. I was diagnosed though just this last year and I am still learning how to do things.

I Just started my first semester of college.(I am a little bit older than my fellow freshman peers.) College has made me very nervous because I will have to put a lot more effort into getting the grades I want. I want to do better than I did in high school. But it has been two weeks and I realize that it takes me ten times longer to do things then my classmates.

I am learning a second language I am having a very hard time memorizing and focusing on studying. It is very hard b/c I feel like I can do all my homework no problem but then sit down and five hours later I haven’t even scratched the surface of my homework and its not like I have a ton of homework! I can’t even explain how it happens! I start my home work and five hours later I have written down some things and tried to read some things and tried to memorize some other things and in the end I look at what I’ve accomplished to just realized I haven’t accomplished anything! It isn’t like I am on my phone or anything,(okay thats a lie I do get on my phone, CURSE YOU INSTAGRAM!) I am sitting there trying to focus but my mind wonders or my brain has like a mental spasm were I swear I can’t think anymore. It is like my brain was like, well that was fun, and walked away!! “Come back and focus!” is what I am screaming in my head while in the library.

Like this post is taking longer than it should too. I can’t put my words in order.