How to stop procrastinating?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done How to stop procrastinating?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  MrObvious 5 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

algebraicgeomet
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I need to stop procrastinating. I find that I will work but only when the deadline is upon me and there’s that last minute panic. I don’t know exactly how to deal with this but it seems that there are some mindset changes, tricks that can help. Do you guys have any general advice for this?

Additionally, I have OCD and one of its side effects is perfectionism, which also results in a lot of procrastination, since just thinking about completing my tasks gives me anxiety. I’m studying mathematics and physics, and I do love the subjects, but I procrastinate a lot, because it takes a lot of learning, lots of struggling, to understand a topic. As a result, I often find myself working on it the night before its due and then I resort to just looking up answers which obviously won’t help me learn. I want to find a study group but I’m socially anxious and it seems people find me kinda weird 🙁

Thanks!

KIM
    Participant

Hello,

I feel your pain (as will most of us here). My two tips are:

1. Tell yourself to learn just one thing that you didn’t know before. Pick a problem to work, and learn it flawlessly. There is elegant beauty in math and physics; just let yourself enjoy it and do it for the sake of learning whenever you can. (If you can do this, sometimes you’ll start early, which takes the last minute pressure off).

2. One tip from another poster on this forum was brilliant. Ask yourself what is one thing that you can do to get closer to your goal today? For example, go to your study, then open the book, then pick another small thing that will get you closer to your goal. Write down the steps beforehand if that helps.