How to Replace Nicotine Benefits?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Treating Your ADHD How to Replace Nicotine Benefits?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      schue20
      Participant

Hi all,

I gave up smoking a year ago. Needless to say my ability to concentrate (I am a graduate student) on reading’s has gone dramatically down hill. For some other context, I also have a mryiad of other disabilities related to learning (yes I know ADHD is not a disability perse), such as dyslexia, autism spectrum, and tourettes. I have been prescribed 60 mg of vyvanse. I have also tried concerta but it gave me too many side effects related to a mostly harmless disease I have (probably caused by years of smoking). While these are somewhat effective they don’t work nearly as well as my old cigarette habit. While most people will just assume it was the norephrine and dopamine from the cigs that helped I am worried that it was mostly the agonist effect on the nicotinic cholinergic receptors that was helping me. I.e. I have tried medication and supplements that benefit everything else nicotine helps (serotonin dopamine norephrine etc). Also, there is research suggesting the adhd experienced in people with autism may be best alleviated by nicotine.

I am wondering what specific medications, if any, or supplements I should look into to maybe replace nicotine. I cannot get back on nicotine. I am willing to increase my stimulant dosage but I do not want to increase dosage too much. Please do not give vague advise like exercise more or eat healthier (I am aware of these things and am doing them). Also, while anxiety medication may be a decent solution I care mostly about the cognitive focus benefits.

Thanks!

• This topic was modified 1 year, 11 months ago by schue20.
      • This topic was modified 1 year, 11 months ago by schue20.
      Penny Williams
      Keymaster