How does ADD change as you get older?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Parents Teens & Young Adults How does ADD change as you get older?

Tagged: 

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      ADDmom
      Participant

My son was diagnosed with ADHD when he was a Sophomore in college, after being put on Academic probation at a First Tier University. A little bit of background and since this is my first time posting here, it’s a bit long.

My son was a high achieving, modestly great student all throughout primary and secondary schools. He played a competitive sport, which helped him get into numerous top schools. His SAT/ACT scores were very high, his IQ is well above average, very well behaved and highly respected, very well liked student/friend/athlete.

He was put on a waiting list for his No. 1 (Div 1) school and got accepted with urging of the team coach for his sport. We were all so elated and over the moon. He was so happy and very excited to start his life away from home.

As a Freshman, he was chosen (because he played exceptionally well) to travel with the team. He played very well and his grades were mediocre but being that the school is very competitive, we were just happy he was happy and not failing. But he did have to drop a class after the Add/Drop period and ended up getting a “W”, which was no big deal, at the time.

Sophomore year came and his whole world started to crumble. He took on way more than he could chew and had to drop another class. And from that point on, his academic career has been like a see saw. Of course, he had to quit sports, which made him even more depressed. He came home and at the advice of his CAPS counselor, he went for a test and was diagnosed with ADHD. We were so shocked. I’m not sure if he believes he has ADD even now.