How do you handle tolerance to medication?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Treating Your ADHD How do you handle tolerance to medication?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      The Cat Lady
      Participant

Hello. I am a 31yo Mom of 4yo twins. I’ve been a stay-at-home Mom for a little over a year, after being terminated from my last 2 jobs for constantly being late. At the time (about two years ago), I was taking 40mg Adderall XR and 40mg Adderall IR, and I remember being stable and functional on that dose; however, it started to become apparent that towards the end of my work day (as a hairdresser apprentice, I would sometimes work for 10+ hours a day in a busy salon), my body would start feeling extremely fatigued and super achy, and I would get crippling headaches on a daily basis. Another doctor at the same clinic whom I liked better switched me to Vyvanse, kept me on the IRs. He ended up unfortunately leaving that clinic, and I begrudgingly started seeing the same Dr as when I started. Long story short, since then I have also tried Mydayis, which worked fine until it didn’t, and I became deeply depressed and had debilitating muscle spasms in my neck and nerve pain in shoulders/neck/head… until I had accidentally run out for a day or two – and seemed to be back to my normal self. Able to feel joy again, no sign of pain whatsoever. That didn’t last long. So today, I am taking 50mg of Pristiq, 30mg Adderall IR, and 20mg Adderall XR. I feel like I’ve come full circle with the meds, and this time I’ve seemingly built up a tolerance to my current dosage pretty quickly – and I’ve been pretty miserable. Unmotivated, depressed, apathetic yet anxious. Everything I do seems to take forever, like I can’t keep up with time. My Dr said at my last two appointments that she didn’t want to make any more changes in meds at the time, but I also feel like she is not really hearing what I am saying to her. Being dismissive of my side effects (“I really don’t fee