How do you cope with appetite loss?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Health & Nutrition How do you cope with appetite loss?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      doubleheelys
      Participant

Hey, so this is my first time posting to this forum. I’m 19 and was recently diagnosed with adhd (though I’ve suspected I had it for a few years now) and I’m currently taking adderall 20 mg extended release. I’m finding it a bit difficult to cope with the loss of appetite, especially seeing as even when I am unmedicated I already find it difficult to eat at times if I am so hyperfocused on a task that I cannot stop what I’m doing, or if there’s nothing in the house that particularly entices me, or if I don’t have the spoons or energy to motivate myself to make food.
      Now, with the fact that I have very few (if any) cravings even during times when I feel physically hungry, it’s only made eating a lot harder. What are some coping strategies or tips I should consider to get myself to eat enough? What have you found works best for you?

• This topic was modified 1 year, 2 months ago by doubleheelys.
      Penny Williams
      Keymaster

Is there anything you would nibble on? We tell people to be mindful of their eating for weight management and health, but, in your case, some mindless eating/snacking would be a good thing. And, when you do eat, make sure it’s packed full of nutrients and calories.

Penny
      ADDitude Community Moderator, Parenting ADHD Trainer & Author, Mom to teen w/ ADHD, LDs, and autism

ShadowShu
      Participant