How do I tell my Asian parents I have ADHD?

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults How do I tell my Asian parents I have ADHD?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      shahhk2
      Participant

Hey, I am 24 years old and a university student. I just recently became diagnosed with adhd, and it puts a lot of things in perspective and freakishly explains a lot of my behaviour. I have been financially dependant on my parents which is why I have been hitting my head against the wall trying to finish my software engineering university degree. I have been failing university courses since 2012 and my whole family is fed up and all my friends have jobs in their related university degrees.

My parents are south asian (Indian) and don’t believe in mental health issues, they completely freak out when I take supplements, saying that “a young man like yourself never needs supplements”, especially since my blood reports usually come out golden. I have struggled with depression for years and whenever I have told my parents about depression they rejected the notion and outright called my psychologist an idiot and told me I am making excuses for my failures. And they continued this even after I got them to sit down with my psychologist (of their own volition) for an hour.

I do want to tell my parents about my adhd so they have some understanding, and because I want to forge my own path in the world, I know I want to be involved in the film industry and I can’t stomach another engineering course. I know I am not going to get their approval, that is done and gone.

Any Asians in this forum? Any suggestions for how to go about telling my Indian parents about my adhd?

toothfairyt
      Participant